Steward of God's Creation Award

The Steward of God?s Creation award is bestowed to those individuals who exhibit courage and commitment in the caring and keeping of the earth in a heroic, distinguished and effective manner. Awardees are determined by a vote of religious leaders and bestowed at a public event, normally the National Prayer Breakfast for Creation Care, which is sponsored annually by a coalition of religious organizations and affiliates.


The Honorable Lisa Jackson
Washington, DC

Lisa JacksonMs. Lisa Jackson serves as the Administrator for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Under her leadership the EPA has taken measures to enforce the Clean Water Act in areas affected by Mountaintop Mining. This form of mining decapitates hundreds of vertical feet from mountaintops to remove thin seams of coal, with the remaining debris shoved down into valleys. The process typically releases high concentrations of toxic heavy metals into the streams that headwater in these valley fills.

Additionally, Ms. Jackson is enforcing scientifically accepted standards for mercury and heavy metal concentration. The coal industry and its supporters have opposed these health standards, and resisted the EPA's lawful enforcement which protects the health and life of citizens.

Perhaps most significantly, Lisa Jackson has determined that carbon dioxide is a harmful pollutant that must be regulated under the statutes of the Clean Air Act. To fail to do so, she has declared, represents and endangerment to the nation and the planet from global climate change.

For her prudence in issuing this endangerment finding, for her courage in defending it in the face of relentless industry opposition, and for her unwavering advocacy for ordinary citizens despite lawsuits, criticisms and personal attacks, we are proud to award Ms. Lisa Jackson with a 2011 Steward of God’s Creation award.



Vincent Rossi
Chad Hanson


Dr. Bob Marshall
Rev. Owen Owens
Julia "Butterfly" Hill
Jim Davidson
Dr. Robert Jonas


Chief Michael Dombeck
Dr. Barak Gale


Hume Davenport
Ann Alexander


Rep. Cynthia McKinney


Connie Hanson
Fr. Jacek Orzechowski


Rev. Peter Moore-Kochlacs



Return to Home Page


Allen Johnson


Rabbi Warren Stone
Thomas Herschelmen


Carlos Agnesi
Fred Krueger


Dr. Calvin DeWitt


Dr. James Hansen


Lisa Jackson


Wendell Berry
Dr. Tom English
Dr. Lise Van Susteren


Bill McKibben
Larry Gibson