Steward of God's Creation Award

The Steward of God?s Creation award is bestowed to those individuals who exhibit courage and commitment in the caring and keeping of the earth in a heroic, distinguished and effective manner. Awardees are determined by a vote of religious leaders and bestowed at a public event, normally the National Prayer Breakfast for Creation Care, which is sponsored annually by a coalition of religious organizations and affiliates.


Dr. Thomas English
Carlsbad, California

Tom English

In 1970 Dr. Tom English attended the first Earth Day celebration. From that experience he felt called to a career in creation care. The inspiration of that event led him to quit his job, and return to graduate school to obtain a post-doctoral degree in Environmental Engineering. 

Since that time he has led a variety of efforts to solve major environmental problems.  These include serving as director of the world's first Regional Air Pollution Study, as the founder of Cal Tech's High Level Nuclear Waste Management program, and as the leader of an effort in California’s Silicon Valley to reduce toxic releases by 21 major companies – which led to an 86% reduction in discharges.

More recently he has served as "Creation Care Educator" for the Presbyterian Church's Synod of Southern California. In that capacity he led an effort to have the Presbyterian Church USA adopt a policy to preserve biodiversity and halt the trend toward mass extinction. He currently focuses his attention on education about the implications of climate change and extinction of species on national security.

Over the past decade he has actively worked with the National Religious Coalition on Creation Care, and in 2010 he co-authored its book, Witness For The Earth: Coalescing the Religious Environmental Movement. In 2012 he organized and chaired the 2012 Washington DC Conference on "Scientific, Religious and Cultural Implications of Global Warming."

For his long legacy of work on behalf of God’s good earth, he was presented with a 2012 "Steward of God's Creation" award at the NRCCC’s conference at Saint Sophia Greek Orthodox Church.






Vincent Rossi
Chad Hanson


Dr. Bob Marshall
Rev. Owen Owens
Julia "Butterfly" Hill
Jim Davidson
Dr. Robert Jonas


Chief Michael Dombeck
Dr. Barak Gale


Hume Davenport
Ann Alexander


Rep. Cynthia McKinney


Connie Hanson
Fr. Jacek Orzechowski


Rev. Peter Moore-Kochlacs



Return to Home Page


Allen Johnson


Rabbi Warren Stone
Thomas Herschelmen


Carlos Agnesi
Fred Krueger


Dr. Calvin DeWitt


Dr. James Hansen


Lisa Jackson


Wendell Berry
Dr. Tom English
Dr. Lise Van Susteren


Bill McKibben
Larry Gibson


Rev. Tom Carr


His All-Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew


Rev. Margaret-Bullitt Jonas


The Sioux Nation