Steward of God's Creation Award

The Steward of God?s Creation award is bestowed to those individuals who exhibit courage and commitment in the caring and keeping of the earth in a heroic, distinguished and effective manner. Awardees are determined by a vote of religious leaders and bestowed at a public event, normally the National Prayer Breakfast for Creation Care, which is sponsored annually by a coalition of religious organizations and affiliates.


Rabbi Warren Stone
Kensington, MD

Warren StoneRabbi Warren Stone has been a strong advocate for Jewish involvement with the environment ever since his participation in the 1997 UN Climate Change Kyoto Protocol. As chair of the environmental committee of the Central Conference of American Rabbis he persuaded his fellow rabbis to pass strong statements on the importance of protecting America's remaining public forests. Rabbi Stone emphasized that all people share a sacred obligation to the Creator, to Creation, and to future generations to safeguard and protect Earth's ecosystems. We are all to serve as protectors and defenders of God's magnificent creations, ensuring safe passage of all creatures from one era to the next by protecting their habitats. Rabbi Stone emphasized that in a world where matters of faith seem so frequently and so tragically to divide us, there is no issue that aligns us more deeply than our shared and sacred responsibility to this tiny planet. “Let us protect our forests and natural resources for generations to come, said Rabbi Stone in his acceptance remarks.

For his insight, persistence and leadership in the stewarding of God's good earth and its forests, Rabbi Warren Stone was awarded a "Steward of the Forest" award at a meeting in the Washington DC chapel of the National Council of Churches.




Vincent Rossi
Chad Hanson


Dr. Bob Marshall
Rev. Owen Owens
Julia "Butterfly" Hill
Jim Davidson
Dr. Robert Jonas


Chief Michael Dombeck
Dr. Barak Gale


Hume Davenport
Ann Alexander


Rep. Cynthia McKinney


Connie Hanson
Fr. Jacek Orzechowski



Return to Home Page


Allen Johnson


Rabbi Warren Stone
Thomas Herschelmen


Carlos Agnesi
Fred Krueger


Dr. Calvin DeWitt


Dr. James Hansen


Lisa Jackson


Wendell Berry
Dr. Tom English
Dr. Lise Van Susteren


Bill McKibben
Larry Gibson