Prayer Breakfast May 12, 2014 in Washington, DC

Tom CarrRev. Tom Carr was honored with the 2014 Steward of Creation Award at its 16th annual NRCCC Prayer Breakfast held this year at the Capitol Hill Lutheran Church in Washington, DC. A major theme of this gathering was climate. Rev. Carr is successfully organizing the Interreligious Ecojustice Network in Connecticut. For further details, check this link.

Prayer Breakfast May 20, 2013 in Washington, DC

McKibben Bill McKibben was honored with the 2013 Steward of Creation Award at the annual National ReligiousCoalition on Creation Care (NRCCC) Prayer Breakfast in Washington, DC on Monday morning May 20. McKibben is an activist, scholar, writer, and founder of, to rally support worldwide for effective climate policy. McKibben has written a number of theological articles over the years, is a Sunday School teacher, and strongly encourages religion to be involved in climate activism.

See Video of nominating talks by James Hansen, Lise Van Susteren, and Laura Dagley. See Video of McKibben's challenging message.. Notes on his talk are in the Spring/Summer Mountain Vision and here.

Larry GibsonLarry Gibson was also honored, posthumously, with the Steward of Creation award. Nominations were by Allen Johnson and James Hansen. Nominations Video here.

Video here of Introduction and Prayers
Video of talks on Climate (over 40 minutes)
Video of some of the projects (Allen Johnson on Mounaintop Removal, David Krantz on Green Zionists, Maribeth Loribieki on Oceans, Jim Davidson on Carbon Confession

Text of talk by Fr. Jacek Orzechowski
Text of talk by Dr. Olin Ivey

Annual Washington Week Events

Since 1999 Christians and Jews have come together annually to represent their environmental positions before Congress, the White House and other government agencies. Initially the focus was on religious responsibility to conserve and protect our national forests. Now we include climate change, protection for endangered species, wilderness preservation, ending mountain-top removal, and protection of national parks from commercial development.

Each year the Washington Week program begins with a National Prayer Breakfast for Creation Care. A "Steward of Creation Award" is part of every prayer breakfast to honor those individuals who exemplify principled action in protecting and stewarding creation because of religious and spiritual values.

Catholics and Jews, Evangelicals, Eastern Orthodox, Pentecostals, and Mainline Protestants typically hold similar positions on most issues of creation care. To ensure religious integrity amidst different beliefs we have developed a protocol for interdenominational and interfaith work. It invites each participant to (1) reflect the fullness of his or her religious beliefs, but also to (2) respect the responsibility of every other participant to do the same. Where we come together is in our common conclusions regarding the right conduct and care that is required for good stewardship of God's creation.


Read the report of the 2016 Climate Crisis Conference organized by Dr. Tom English in San Diego


Lester Brown of Worldwatch Institute speaks at 2009 NRCCC Prayer Breakfast
(Earthday Television. Global Warming Channel, Videos page 3 of 5)

James Hansen speaks at 2010 NRCCC Prayer Breakfast)
(Earthday Television. Global Warming Channel, Videos page 1 of 5)

Lisa Jackson speaks at 2011 NRCCC Prayer Breakfast)
(Earthday Television. Global Warming Channel, Videos page 1 of 5)

Bill McKibben Speaks at Climate Conference April 2012 (video)


Washington Week Programs, Reports, Photos, and Reflections Over The Years

YEAR   Steward of Creation Award   Notes  
2014   Tom Carr   At Capitol Hill Lutheran Church.  
2013   Bill McKibben ***Larry Gibson   At New York Avenue Presbyterian Church.  


  Wendell Berry***Tom English***Lise Van Susteren   National Cathedral Forum and luncheon; Climate Conference  
2011   Lisa Jackson   Emphasis on pollution related health issues  
2010   James Hansen   Climate Change  
2009   Calvin DeWitt   Lester Brown gave keynote speech  
2008   Carlos Agnesi*** Fred Krueger      
2007   Warren Stone*** Thomas Herschelman  

Meetings with World Bank since 2001

2006   Allen Johnson      
2005   Peter Moore-Kochlacs      
2004   Connie Hanson*** Jacek Orzeckowski      
2003   Cynthia McKinney      
2002   Hume Davenport*** Ann Alexander      
2001   Michael Dombeck***Barak Gale   Advocacy on "Roadless Rule" for forests, and preserving Arctic Wildlife Refuge  
2000   Bob Marshall***Owen Owens*** Julia "Butterfly" Hill*** Jim Davidson*** Robert Jonas      
1999   Vincent Rossi***Chad Hanson